Ditch the Band

Because I have written about it multiple times (here & here), I wanted to be sure to let everyone know that last week I got the damn pull-up! This was a moment two years in the making, and there were self-fives, high-fives, and an unbeatable badass feeling.

It was after a CrossFit class, and I was working on pull-up skill work with some friends in an effort to turn some ugly love upside down and DO the thing. No big workout, no expectations, not trying to PR Fran or anything. Just (literally) hanging around with some friends having fun. I did a few rounds of the skill sets with the smallest band assisting me, and then one round I thought “Hey, let’s ditch the band and try this”

In a very Amy, quiet jazz hands way, I made no announcements to the group, just moved the band to the side. “Alright, swing! Big hips! DAMN AME YOUR CHIN IS OVER THE BAR”

Then I started shouting “I did it! I did a pull-up!!” while still hanging from the bar, and got in a few more while I was up there. I forgot about the band for the rest of the sets and did real, live pull-ups to close out the night.

Big things are sometimes little things, and sometimes they happen in the quiet corners. Regardless, I have been thinking more about owning it (hi, yes, I did tell everyone and their mother I got the damn pull-up) and now I am thinking about striving for it. Where else in life can I ditch the band and give something a shot? Are there places I am holding myself back with “I can’ts” or “I won’t make its”?  What’s the worst the would happen? I could be left hanging (ha), or I could realize I had the strength to do it all along.

Ditch the band. If you fall, you can always pull yourself back up.

 

13235455_3090023129519_3797277316809776691_o

 

 

Leave a comment